Accessibility |

List of Advocate Deputes (R010338)

Freedom of Information: List of Advocate Deputes (R010338)

Thank you for your request dated 11 May 2015 under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 (FOISA) for the undernoted information:

“Please could you forward me information on the names of those who hold the position of Advocate Depute at the present time and their rank (e.g. Senior Advocate Depute).  Please also include those who hold an ad-hoc commission.

Please inform me of the respective salaries paid for the different ranks.”

I enclose, for your information a copy of current list of those individuals who are serving Advocate Deputes.  

With reference to the Advocates who serve on an ad hoc basis, it may be helpful for you to know that this is dependent upon the business needs of the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service at any given time.  To assist you, I have enclosed a list of those who have held a Commission within the last 12 months.

In respect of your request to be advised of the ranks and respective salaries paid to the different ranks, I can advise that the salary range for an Advocate Depute is £87,980-£136,761. 

I consider that the information on individual ranks and salaries of Advocate Deputes to be exempt from release under Section 38(1)(b) of FOISA as it would allow the salaries of individuals to be identified. This exemption applies because the information is personal data of a third party and disclosing it would contravene the data protection principles in Schedule 1 of the Data Protection Act 1998.  This is an absolute exemption and there is no requirement to consider the public interest.



1.        Alex Prentice QC                                   
2.        Iain McSporran                   
3.        Ashley Edwards                                 
4.        Jennifer Bain                           
5.        Andrew Brown QC                        
6.        Alison Di Rollo                            
7.        Bruce Erroch                                
8.        Richard Goddard                         
9.        Timothy Niven-Smith
10.     Paul Brown                                            
11.     Sheena Fraser                             
12.     James Keegan QC                                 
13.     Ross MacFarlane                                   
14.     Peter McCormack                         
15.     Allan Nicol                                             
16.     David Nicolson                             
17.     Stewart Ronnie                                      
18.     Kathleen Harper                                   
19.     Jane Farquharson                        
20.     Paul Kearney                               
21.     Margaret Barron                          
22.     Steven Borthwick                         
23.     Alan Cameron                              
24.     Adrian Cottam                             
25.     Lisa Gillespie                                
26.     Angela Gray                                
27.     Rosemary Guinnane                    
28.     Martin Macari                               
29.     Murdoch MacTaggart                   
30.     Shanti Maguire                                      
31.     Mark McGuire                              
32.     Joanna McDonald                        
33.     Shirley McKenna                                   
34.     Stephen McCloy                                    
35.     Wiliam McVicar                                        
36.     David Taylor                                
37.     Ian Wallace


1.           Lorenzo Alonzi
2.           Dorothy Bain
3.           Neil Beardmore
4.           Simon Bowie
5.           Jonathan Brodie
6.           Kenneth Campbell
7.           Juliet Casey
8.           Ruth Charteris
9.           Ronnie Clancy
10.        Patricia Comiskey
11.        Ruth Crawford
12.        Jamie Dawson
13.        Una Doherty
14.        Fiona Drysdale
15.        Euan Duthie
16.        Peter Ferguson
17.        Alyson Forbes
18.        Geoffrey Forbes
19.        Edith Forrest
20.        Robert Frazer
21.        Nicola Gilchrist
22.        Tony Graham
23.        David Hay
24.        Gareth Jones
25.        John Keenan
26.        Anthony Lenehan
27.        Margaret MacFarlane
28.        Alan Mackay
29.        Eoghainn MacLean
30.        Kenneth McBrearty
31.        John McElroy
32.        Louis Moll
33.        Derrick Nelson
34.        Hugh Olson
35.        Stephen O’Rourke
36.        Sean Smith
37.        John Speir
38.        Keith Stewart
39.        Michael Stuart
40.        Alan Summers
41.        Sean Templeton
42.        Laura Thomson
43.        David Young